It’s a small world

I’ve gone maybe half way around the world.  I’ve brought books with me, including, Murder at the Lanterne Rouge by Cara Black.  Cara is an American mystery author who writes about mysteries set in Paris.  Each book is set in a different arrondissement (district) of Paris.  She’s written 12 of them so far and there’s 21 arrondissements.  Her latest book is set in the exact neighborhood that I’m staying in.  In fact the book mentions my street, Rue de Picardie at least twice.

So not only am I reading a book set in the neighborhood that I’m staying in, I’m in Paris and I get to go to hear that author talk at The American Library of Paris.  It’s a small world, it just costs a lot to get around it.

The American Library in Paris

She gave a wonderful talk giving all kinds of details about the area of the Marais that I am staying in.

Cara Black – mystery author at The American Library in Paris.

One of the details she gave is that the park near me, Square du Temple was the home base of the Knights Templar in Paris.  You know, the guys that protected people going to the crusades in the 11th and 12th centuries and who have all kinds of folklore and conspiracy theories swirling around them.  You know what that means – there might be a whole Da Vinci code treasure hunt in my neighborhood.  It’s something I had to investigate.  Who knows, I might find the Holy Grail.

Here is a photo of me looking for clues.

Doing detective work in the Square du Temple

The rain had stopped and it was too nice to noisy around so I sat back and watched my fellow Parisians enjoy the day.  BTW, I didn’t find any clues but I did find a great shot of the sun breaking through and reflecting on this building near Place de  Republique.

Place de Republique – building avec soleil

It’s a small world, but the world has plenty of books and if you want to read  one about the area of Paris I’m staying in, here’s the one to get:

Murder at the Lanterne Rough
by Cara Black

Okay, I’ve got to get back and get super focused on looking for clues that the Knights Templar might have left near me. It’s a very important mission and I’ve decided to accept it. Nothing should stop me now.  “Oh look, there’s a cute dog…”

Ahhh, petit chein…..

Any comments?

4 thoughts on “It’s a small world

Leave a comment